Your Progress

  • 0 Incorrect (8 allowed to pass)
  • 0 Correct
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
 
 
 
 
 
Ask DMV Genie AI
new
Back to Program Home

Free DMV Written Test Simulator for Illinois | Updated for 2024

15 min
Based on 2024 IL driver's license manual
Available in EN, ES, RU
Instant feedback

Perfect for

  • Illinois Learner’s Permit
  • Illinois Driver’s License
  • IL Senior Citizens’ Refresher Test
  • IL Driver’s License Renewal.

What to expect on the actual IL DMV exam

35questions
28correct answers to pass
80%passing score
15Minimum age to apply

Ready to ace your IL DMV exam? Let's get you prepared!

Choose your path to success: Free vs. Premium features

 FreePremium
Realistic practice tests120 basic questionsAll 680 exam-like questions
Personalized study planNoYes
State-specific questionsYesYes
Pass GuaranteeNoYes (100% money back)
Your personal AI coachBasic questions onlyUnlimited
Multiple languagesYesYes
Driver's license FAQYesYes
Question-level feedbackBasic questions onlyYes, for each question
Hints & explanationsBasic questions onlyYes
Multiple difficulty levelsYes, limitedYes (Easy, Hard, Expert)
Exam SimulatorNoYes
Marathon TestNoYes
Challenge Bank™Only incorrect answersAny questions

Illinois DMV Written Test Overview

If you’re under 18 and want to drive in the state of Illinois, you’ll be required to take a written knowledge test and hold your instruction permit for at least nine months before you may apply for a license. The DMV written test consists of 35 multiple-choice questions, of which you’ll need to correctly answer at least 28 to pass. The test, which is based on the 2024 Illinois Rules of the Road, will require you to be able to identify certain road signs, as well as answer questions regarding traffic laws, safe driving techniques, and license restrictions. To get your instruction permit, you’ll need to pass the written test with an 80% or higher, take a vision test, pay the $20 permit fee, and provide proof of identity and residence. If a driver is 17 years of age or under, he or she must show they have completed a driver’s education course, or are currently enrolled in one. If you are not able to pass your test on the first try, you may attempt to retake the exam the next day, but this SOS practice test will help ensure you’re ready the first time.